Josefina

¨Josefina¨ // acrylic on wooden panel // 107 x 73 cm

Acrylic on wood panel /// Acrílico sobre panel de madera 2011

FROM THE LOVELUCIÓN EXHIBITION /// DE LA EXHIBICIÓN LOVELUCIÓN  DEC 2011- JAN 2012

Esta es una pintura que empezó como una decoración para la casa de mi compañero. Muy inspirada por los detallados borderes que utiliza Carlito Dalceggio en sus obras, pensé en probar la técnica. Después de hacer el border, lo dejé por 4 meses, y un día nuevo en mi estudio, salió estos colores.

  La imagen viene de una foto de mi donde estoy sobre un techo con las tetas expuestas. Tenía varias inseguridades sobre mi pecho, y decidí celebrarme en vez de criticarme… Debajo la pintura está escrito en lapiz cuales son mis inseguridades. No recuerdo lo que escribí, claro, porque lo dejé ser cubierto por mi expresión.

 

This painting began as a decoration for my boyfriend’s house. After painting the border, I waited four months to begin painting the woman I had sketched. Then one day in my studio, these colours came out. I titled this piece ¨Josefina¨ becuase the image comes from a photo of me where I am topless in front of all Granada. I had various insecurities about my chest and decided that I should celebrate my body through a painting. Under the paint of the border is written in pencil whatever it was that I needed to write about my breasts. I don’t remember what it was that I wrote because I let it be covered up by my colourful expression.

One thought on “Josefina

  1. I LOVE the detail here. It’s one of my favorite. I’d buy it and hang it in my house….if you had a shirt on her. It would kind of defeat the purpose though, wouldn’t it?
    Mom.

Leave a Reply

